Based in the wilds of North London, Mechanical Cabaret is an eclectic/electronic/punk/experimental band, based on the intense & brutally honest outpourings of songwriter/performer/producer/composer Roi Robertson, working with various musical cohorts along the way, currently including Steve Bellamy and Isawo Black Love Phantom.

Influences range from the likes of early electronic music innovators such as Joe Meek, Walter Carlos, and The Radiophonic workshop, Walter/Wendy Carlos, Jean Michel Jarre, to electronic/industrial groups like Kraftwerk, Coil, Throbbing Gristle, The Human League (pre-Dare), DAF, Thomas Leer, Fad Gadget, pop groups like Sparks, Depeche Mode, Soft Cell, I Start Counting/Komputer, New Order, Erasure, Prince, Pet Shop Boys, NIN, Ministry, and most kinds of dance music.

They make music with an ever-growing arsenal of synthesizers, samplers, computers, circuit bent toys, bits of junk and whatever else they come across that makes an interesting sound; sometimes danceable, sometimes not, mainly electronic, but not essentially so.

Roi has been producing records and playing live shows for almost 25 years when he began performing his music live, releasing albums and singles via several labels as well as principally the band's own, Soiled Records. He's produced Mechanical Cabaret remixes for artists including Nitzer Ebb, Komputer, Client, Mesh, Kunt and the Gang, and Helalyn Flowers for labels such as Mute Records, Major Records, SPV, Alfa Matrix, and Disco Minge.

Mechanical Cabaret have performed live extensively throughout the World over the years, particularly in London, UK, Germany and most recently, Japan. As well as playing their own storming headline shows, they have also performed at many festivals, and appeared along with musical legends such as Fad Gadget, Karl Bartos (Kraftwerk), The Damned, Suicide, DAF, Nitzer Ebb, Motor, Sheep On Drugs, Alien Sex Fiend, Client, T.Raumschmiere, Toyah, Sigue Sigue Sputnik, Mesh, Angie Bowie, Frontline Assembly, Alec Empire, VNV Nation, A Flock of Seagulls, Covenant, Combichrist, Hocico, and Apoptygma Berserk.

Their most recent album Beyond Science And Superstition was released in October 2013, via Soiled in the UK, and WTII in the USA. The most recent release is a new re-issue of the 1st Mechanical Cabaret album We Have An Agenda, remastered by the band, replete with extra tracks and demos, released on July 10th 2015.

They are busy recording their new album, due for release in 2016.


Use a Facebook, Yahoo, AOL, or MSN Hotmail account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on Music Eternal's media mediums. Learn more.